Happy Gotcha Day Chelsea!


chelsea dog

5 weeks old–how could you not fall in love with that face?!

rescue dog

12 weeks old and oh-so-tiny.

rescue dog, cute dog

One year old! Happy Birthday my angel!

It Matters to Me

Author Unknown

As I walked along the seashore
This young boy greeted me.
He was tossing stranded starfish
Back to the deep blue sea.
I said “Tell me why you bother,
Why you waste your time this way.
There’s a million stranded starfish
Does it matter, anyway?”

And he said, “It matters to this one.
It deserves a chance to grow.
It matters to this one.
I can’t save them all I know.
But it matters to this one,
I’ll return it to the sea.
It matters to this one,
And it matters to me.”

I walked into the shelter,
The owner greeted me.
She was helping Chelsea learn to trust.
She was struggling I could see.
I said, “Tell me why you bother,
Why you waste your time this way.
Chelsea’s only one of thousands,
Does it matter anyway?”

And she said, “It matters to this one.
She deserves a chance to grow.
It matters to this one.
I can’t save them all I know.
But it matters to this one,
I’ll help her be what she can be.
It matters to this one,
And it matters to me.

12 responses to “Happy Gotcha Day Chelsea!

  1. Love love love! Happy Gotcha Day gorgeous pup. x

  2. What a wonderful poem. Yes, Chelsea, you are loved. Happy gotcha day!

  3. I knew the Starfish Story, but never heard this spin on it. So perfect. Happy Gotcha Day!

  4. Aw… that is so sweet. Happy Gotcha Day!

  5. I can’t believe it is already Chelsea’s Gotcha Day! She has grown up and persevered through so much, thanks to you!

  6. what a beautiful poem..did you write it yourself?
    all dogs cats starfish, and any of God’s creatures deserve a chance to have a happy life

  7. Mag (Chancy's Mumsy)

    Happy Gotcha Day! Sweet, Beautiful Chelsea! Hugs and nose kisses

  8. Hey it’s Jet here.

    Whoo hoo, great news, moving poem.

  9. Happy gotcha! Can’t believe it’s been a year already. Wow!

  10. Happy Gotcha. She she is a cute pup.

  11. I hope she had a great day. What a beautiful poem.

We appreciate your comments, woofs and meows!

