We’re Back (Again)


Hello to all of our friends! We know we’ve used the we’ve been busy excuse before but, for lack of creativity, we’re using it again. Big things have been happening; some good and some sad but please know we have missed you all dearly.

My grandfather, one of the most wonderful men I’ve ever known, passed away on Tuesday. After living a beautiful life for 94 years, he joins my grandmother in Heaven. A husband, a father, a grandfather, a preacher, a prankster, a woodworker, a downhill skiier, a distance racer, a dog rescuer and a man who embraced life to the fullest, my grandfather was an amazing person. I am so lucky to have spent 25 years with him. Rest In Peace, Papaw. I love you forever.

Papaw loved Harley so much. He had a black Schnauzer named Mercedes for 17 years 🙂

_______________________________________________________

Tomorrow morning, Bethany is off on a transport to Pick Your Paw Animal Rescue in New Jersey! A wonderful no-kill rescue, they already have people interested in adopting her! Pick Your Paw is the rescue group who helped me save Chelsea and their awesome President and I have become great rescue buddies. Pick Your Paw saves dogs from Miami-Dade Animal Services and other high-kill shelters and places them in amazing forever homes. The great thing about Bethany going to them is that she’ll find a home in a matter of days. We think that’s pawsome because after 4 months in our home, she deserves a family that will be hers forever. It goes without saying that we will miss her terribly; especially Chelsea who may come unglued. If you live in the North and are interested in adopting Bethany, please email pickyourpaw@gmail.com.

puppy

We will miss you so much, sweet Bethany! Good luck in your new forever home!

_______________________________________________________

We also ended up with another foster dog: “King” DJ. He was supposed to be a temporary foster; he was going on the transport with Bethany to a no-kill rescue in the North, too. Since they were both going together, we agreed to foster him for a week. If not, he would be euthanized before he got the chance to be pulled from the shelter and transported.

We took DJ home; he was noted as “good with cats, dogs and kids; obedient; loving”. Sadly, this was not the case. After trying to attack Roory, DJ decided to go after the dogs. Despite proper one-on-one introductions, his behavior changed once in a pack situation. He got very aggressive, his behavior escalating quickly, and we had to separate them before someone got hurt. Because of these issues, DJ was not permitted to go on the transport.

After he tried to play tug-of-war with a shoe I was wearing, we realized just how much DJ had been failed by people. Because of the slight human aggression (no dog should try to wrestle with a shoe attached to your foot!), it was recommended we bring DJ back and have him euthanized. My heart sank. He had been failed by people so many times. We couldn’t let it happen again.

Abandoned at Miami-Dade Animal Services at 3 months old, DJ thought he found the perfect home. A family came and adopted him just in the nick of time. They kept him for a year before bringing him back to the shelter. They were moving…and DJ wasn’t part of the moving plan. Left to die at the place he’d been saved from, DJ was quickly running out of time. When the rescue group agreed to take him, they pleaded for a week-long foster–otherwise he’d be killed before he could escape. That’s where we came in. And realized just how much more he had been failed. And though we don’t have a solid plan in place for him, we’re continuing to foster while looking for a local rescue group or adopter for this pretty boy. If DJ could speak, we think this is what he would say:

I don’t know what forever love means because no one has ever showed me. I’m not sure how to act around other dogs because my owners never socialized me. If I jump on you, it’s because no one ever taught me not to. I may get aggressive if you raise your voice because the last people who did that used to hit me. I may nip at your hand if it’s down at your side because no one ever showed me how to properly interact with people. I may get hyper but that’s because I never got to be a puppy. I may rip up your stuff, jump on things I’m not supposed to and pull at my leash when we’re walking. But I am very smart. If you show me love, I will learn to trust you and eventually shower you in face kisses. If you teach me how to behave, show me how I should interact with others and be patient and kind, I will learn. Because all I want to do is make you proud. If you adopt me, please don’t throw me out when you move. Don’t give me away when I get old and gray. Just keep showing me the love that everyone says I deserve so badly and I will be your loyal companion for the rest of my life. Please give me a chance. Don’t cast me aside like all the others. I want to know what forever love feels like.

King DJ
Photo credit: Miami-Dade Animal Services

We thank you all for being there for us through the ups and downs and send our love to everyone, four-legged and two-legged, too 🙂

20 responses to “We’re Back (Again)

  1. Sorry for your loss.

  2. We’re hoping hard for furever homes for DJ and Bethany. Fingers crossed, paws crossed, prayers said. Maybe Papaw will have some influence up there.

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  3. Our deepest condolences to you for your Papaw! May God Bless You and comfort you during this time. Best wishes and lots of prayers for Bethany…. 🙂 Give DJ lots of love and hugs from us and great job at taking him in and working with him. 🙂

    God Bless You!
    the collies and chuck 🙂

  4. We’re sorry for your loss. We hope Bethany finds a new home very quickly. She is such a cutie! *Hugs* and *kisses*

    Bella and DiDi

  5. Welcome Back – sorry to hear you have had your fair share of ups and downs – thinking of you and your crew though:) Have a Great Weekend!

  6. I’m so sorry for the lost of your grandfather. What a great man he was. I think you look a lot like him 😉
    I will miss the stories about Bettany, but I hope she’ll be doing fine at her new forever home. She deserves as much love as she got at your place.
    I think King DJ will be allright, when he trusts the person. I hope he’ll find a forever home as well.

  7. I’m very sorry for your loss. It does sound like you made the most of the time you had with your grandfather and that is what matters. I’m hoping with my big Griff heart that King DJ finds just the perfect home. Bethany is so adorable- I think things will work out well for her. Thank you for watching out for all of these sweet animals.

  8. Hey it’s Jet here. Welcome back Miss Deanna.

    Sending condolences for the loss of your grandfather. Even though he lived a full life, he leaves behind family who will miss him. We hope you keep special memories of him in your heart pocket.

    Thank you for your kindness for King DJ… maybe you and Mom could chat about him and Champ (see our post today.) We know you always have great suggestions.

    happy tails to Bethany, may your good fortune continue to grow.

  9. Sorry about your Granddad but 94 is a good innings..I hope to be able to reach 90 then I shall be content so your Pawpaw did well and now he is happily in Heaven…..and you have your very happy precious memories.
    As for King DJ..that is a very sad story which is repeated time and time again by people who have a whim to have a dog. They do not realise that a Dog is for Life and when you move ..they move too. We moved to Spain and had I not for any reason been able to take my two dogs and one cat then we would not have gone…My animals are an important part of my life. I do so pray that King DJ will find the Happy Forever Home that he deserves..there must be someone out there who has the love and kindness to train him properly. If I was not in Bulgaria ..I would have him! but already have 5 dogs and three cats so not a good idea

  10. Chancy and Mumsy

    So sorry to hear about grandfather. Hold on to all the wonderful memories of him. We are hoping and praying that both D.J. and Bethany find wonderful, loving, forever homes very soon. You have been really busy sure hope you find a little time to relax and rest some. Hugs and nose kisses

  11. I’m sorry to hear about your grandpa. I miss mine a lot, want to hear something strange? I just had a dream about mine this morning. I haven’t dreamed about him in like 40 years. 🙂

    I’m so glad that Bethany is on her way to her forever home and I know you will get a plan in place to help DJ. I felt that way about Delilah when she first came to us, I didn’t want to be one more person that failed her. You will figure it out you do such amazing things for them. 🙂

  12. So sorry to hear about your grandfather – you now have another angel watching over you x

  13. I’m so sorry to hear about your Papaw. It sounds like he was a wonderful man.

    And DJ is such a cutie! He sounds like our Toby was before we adopted him many years ago. And he turned out to be such a great dog!

  14. Sending you lots of love from us. It’s nice to have you back. We hope Bethany finds a fur-ever home very soon and we just know DJ is in the right place with you guys before his special someone comes along. You are amazing! xx

  15. Pingback: Scarlett Goes to the Beach & DJ Calms Down | For The Love of My Dogs

  16. I’m so sorry to hear about your Grandpa… *Sending loves and hugs over* ❤ ❤ ❤

  17. Pingback: DJ’s Going Home | For The Love of My Dogs

  18. Pingback: DJ’s Going Home! | For The Love of My Dogs

  19. Pingback: Foster Boy Enzo | For The Love of My Dogs

We appreciate your comments, woofs and meows!

