Peanut Butter Honey Dog Treats


These wheat-free dog treats are simple but yummy. Your dogs will go crazy for the peanut butter flavor and you’ll be happy these require only a little effort but are much healthier than store-bought treats! Click here to read about the benefits of a wheat-free diet and then try this mouth-watering recipe for your pups today!

Wheat Free Peanut Butter Dog Treats

Peanut Butter Dog Treats

2 cups rice flour
¼ cup plain oats
1 egg
1 teaspoon baking soda
2 teaspoons honey
2 tablespoons peanut butter
¾ cup water or as needed

>>Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.
>>Mix all ingredients together, adding water and rice flour as needed to make a workable dough.

Making a workable, rollable dough.

>>Roll dough onto wax paper, using rice flour to make rolling the dough easier. Dough should be ¼ – ½ in. thick. Use cookie cutters to cut desired shapes.

Use dog-themed cookie cutters for added fun!

>>Place treats on greased cookie-sheet (We use a cookie-sheet lined with tin foil to make clean up easy!) and bake for 8-12 minutes or until golden.

Ready to go in the oven!

>>Cool before serving. Store in airtight container or in refrigerator for longer life. If stored in freezer, treats will stay good for 2-3 weeks.

20 responses to “Peanut Butter Honey Dog Treats

  1. Wow! I’m gonna try this. But I wonder, have you used chickpea flour instead? We love chickpeas!

  2. Mumma is so behind reading everyone’s blogs because of us moving house, but we just saw the heading of your post today and knew we had to log on. We’ve put making these for us on Mumma’s list of things to do. She says that list is never ending, so we put the cookie making at the top so she gets to it sooner! We love love love the other cookies she made from your recipe and we’re looking forward to these ones too because we LOVE peanut butter! Bella & Beary xx

    • Aww we are glad you liked them! These are simple and yummy 🙂 We hope your move is going well- we’ve been quite behind on reading too!! I’ve been sick and extra busy at work, leaving no time to blog 😦

      We hope you get settled in to your new place soon!!

      • Mumma is FINALLY going to make these for us tonight. We can’t wait! Hope you’re feeling better and work has settled down – Mumma has been working like a crazy woman too.

  3. Ooo. I think Flo might like some of them! I’m in the process of moving her from a commercial dog biscuit diet onto a raw diet. She’s had a skin condition which I’m pretty sure isn’t as a result of her food, but I think the change in diet may make her immune system stronger. I hope so, anyway. Thanks for putting so many great food ideas up on your blog, I’m going to be dipping in and out a lot over the coming months, I suspect! Any advice will be gratefully received. 🙂

    • Thanks for your comments– we are sorry to hear Flo is still having skin problems! Feeding Harley a natural diet really helped his skin irritations and eliminating the wheat did wonders. I think in the end, the wheat was key 🙂 Have you tried supplementing with Omega Fatty Acids? You can buy the capsules and put them directly on the dog food. I have a post here about adding Omegas: http://loveofmydogs.com/2011/10/23/omega-3s-for-pets/

      • Thanks, I read the omega post last week with great interest. One of the things I’m adding to her diet is sardines, so with a bit of luck I shouldn’t have to give her supplements but we’ll see how we go – it’s early days on the raw diet front for us! Having said that, within 2 days I noticed a difference in her coat – it’s even shinier. At the moment I’m still getting a handle on how much she needs, and that will only pan out over the course of time and me watching her waistline! She’s REALLY excited now about meal times too. 😀

      • That is wonderful news! Sometimes changing the diet makes all the difference and when done correctly, a raw diet is the best thing you can do for your dog. We are glad to hear the raw diet is working so well for Flo and we hope she continues to improve!!!

  4. Yum! Peanut butter is one of my favorites…gotta try them!

  5. Great recipe and photos and I like your nail color!

  6. Yay! My person is printing out this recipe. I hope she gets serious and makes it for me.

  7. Oh my gosh!
    Nom, nom, nom, nom!!!!!!!

  8. Bella and DiDi: Yum! Drool….

  9. I’m trying to regulate my chorkie’s blood sugar and am starting to give her small amounts of honey a few times a day and this just seemed like a great thing to try as rice was recommended as well.
    Through some research i’ve also found that coconut oil is great for many things for our little pets. It can regulate blood sugar levels, help skin irritations, the list goes on and on! That may be something that Flo may be interested in?
    So I’m going to try these cookies with a little added coconut oil!

We appreciate your comments, woofs and meows!

