Sweet Brandy Girl ~ 2000-2012


Sweet Brandy Girl

My childhood dog, sweet Brandy girl, went to the Rainbow Bridge yesterday morning. Our family is devastated because we thought she had more time but comforted knowing she was not in pain. With tears in my eyes, I write this while Scarlett licks away my tears. Dogs just know.

Brandy’s health had been in recent decline. Diagnosed with diabetes, Brandy formed cataracts causing complete blindness overnight. My mom put her on a homemade dog diet for diabetic dogs and Brandy’s health improved. She shed all her excess weight, was acting like a puppy again and was pain-free, limited only by her blindness. She went in for surgery to repair her cataracts and went into cardiac arrest during the operation. The veterinarians did everything they could but they could not save our sweet angel.

Brandy lived for 12 wonderful years; she’s been a part of my family for half of my entire life. I will cherish the many memories of her in my heart forever and I know my family will, too– especially my mom. Brandy was very special to her.

In closing, I will share the Rainbow Bridge poem in memory of my sweet Brandy girl. Rest in Peace my angel.

My angel.

Rainbow Bridge Poem
Author Unknown

Just this side of heaven is a place called the Rainbow Bridge…

When an animal dies that has been especially close to someone here, that pet goes to the Rainbow Bridge.

There are meadows and hills for all of our special friends so they can run and play together.Β There is plenty of food, water and sunshine so our friends are warm and comfortable.

All the animals who had been ill and old are restored to health and vigor. Those who were hurt or maimed are made whole and strong again, just as we remember them in our dreams of days and times gone by.Β The animals are happy and content, except for one thing: they each miss someone very special to them, who had to be left behind.

They all run and play together, but the day comes when one suddenly stops and looks into the distance. His bright eyes are intense. His eager body quivers. Suddenly he begins to run from the group, flying over the green grass, his legs carrying him faster and faster.

You have been spotted, and when you and your special friend finally meet, you cling together in joyous reunion, never to be parted again. The happy kisses rain upon your face; your hands again caress that beloved head. You look once more into the trusting eyes of your pet so long gone from your life but never absent from your heart.

Then you cross the Rainbow Bridge together…

I love you so much, Brandy. I hope you are having lots of fun playing at the Rainbow Bridge. I know I will see you again some day!

34 responses to “Sweet Brandy Girl ~ 2000-2012

  1. Woof, Brandy. You were a brave, courageous girl. Mom and I will pray that the love you left behind in the hearts of your family will help them to recover from your loss. We love you.

    Cupcake
    xo

  2. Sorry for your troubles. Here if you wanna talk
    Bones

  3. Beautiful post and brought tears to my eyes. It is hard losing a fur baby. Sending my thoughts and prayers. There is a rainbow somewhere shining over and protecting Sweet Brandy today:)

  4. I send my hugs to you and your family…I am so so sorry! There are no words that can compensate for the loss of a loved one whether animal or human. Unfortunately this is one of the bad things that we accept when we become animal owners and lovers. Time will lessen the pain that you feel now but the love that you all had for her will always remain in your heart. She had a good happy life and you did all that could be done, so think of the happy times that you have spent together..it will help.

    I wish I could say or do more ..but there is nothing..so I send you my love, my thoughts and my prayers

  5. Andrea Thomson Viner @ Iowa Dog Blog

    Oh, I’m sorry Deanna. It’s so hard to lose a pet, even if Brandy wasn’t living with you. I’m glad Scarlett is there to comfort you.

  6. I am so sorry for your family’s loss. She sounds like she was an important member of the family who will be missed. Hugs,
    Jennifer

  7. I am so sorry. We don’t stay long, but the things while we do while we’re here are wondrous.

  8. Sending you lots of bubba + fuzzy cuddles (+ one from our mumma too)! Bubba, Bella + Beary xox

  9. So sorry for your loss of Brandy. Glad Scarlett is a comfort to you. I’m sure Harley and Chelsea are helping too.

  10. Condolences Donna to you and all your family. It’s always had to lose our loved companions.

    Pippa and Katherine

  11. I’m so sorry to hear of your loss of Brandy. I’m glad you have your other babies to comfort you!

  12. Sorry to hear about Brandy. It is very hard to loose a dog that you have had for so long. I’m glad to hear Scarlet was there to comfort you. Our dogs are just like our kids.

    Our thoughts are with you and your family.

  13. So sorry for your loss. RIP Brandy

  14. I am a day behind reading and am so very sad to read this. Farewell sweet Brandy. 😦

  15. I was gone all day yesterday so I did not see this till this morning. We are so sorry for we know how you feel. We send you lots of hugs and we know nothing heals the pain of the loss. Brandy was a sweetie who brought so much joy and happiness into your lives. That is the thing to hold onto. We usually try to build a scrapbook of each collie and take a clipping of their hair to put in the book. It never replaces them, but it is a wonderful reminder. Write down your memories of her and when you miss her you can read them and remember. Some day our dear friend, you will see her again, but this time forever!!!!

    With Sorrow and Lots Of Hugs,
    The Collies and Chuck

    • Thank you for your kind, sincere words, Chuck and the Collies! She was a wonderful dog who will truly be missed everyday.

      I love the scrapbook idea– what a great way to remember all the good times. I’m going to give it a try πŸ™‚

  16. I am so sorry for your loss. Losing your pup is very difficult…never easy to lose a family member. My thoughts are with you.

We appreciate your comments, woofs and meows!

