Homemade Wheat-Free Peanut Butter Pumpkin Treats


Homemade Wheat-Free Treat

Homemade dog treats are a great way to avoid by-products and other unhealthy ingredients found in processed treats. They can also be made for dogs with diet restrictions, such as allergies. This is my favorite recipe for homemade dog treats, especially this time of year! My dogs absolutely love these easy-to-make treats and I like knowing they are much healthier than store-bought goodies. These treats are wheat-free as it’s a healthier option overall for dogs. Many dogs have wheat allergies, a common ingredient in dog biscuits and food. I hope your dogs enjoy these as much as Scarlett and Harley!

Homemade Wheat-Free Peanut Butter Pumpkin Treats

(makes approximately 15-25)

3 cups oat flour
2 organic eggs
1 cup canned pumpkin
2 tablespoons natural gluten-free peanut butter or sodium-free peanut butter
2 teaspoons baking soda
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

>>Preheat oven to 350 F. Mix all ingredients, adding water when/if necessary. Dough should be stiff but workable.
>>Roll dough out on wax sheet and cut into 1/2 inch treats. Use cookie cutters for added fun.
>>Bake 40 minutes or until hard. Stays good for 2-3 weeks or longer if stored in the freezer.

—>Making oat flour is easy! Just ground up oats in your food processor and voila!<—

6 responses to “Homemade Wheat-Free Peanut Butter Pumpkin Treats

  1. I think your blog is Spartacus-ly fabulous, if u know what i mean =))
    I would dig in more when i done my work =))

  2. For dogs on grain-free diets, flour made from garbanzo beans will work great!

  3. Thank you- I’m glad you enjoy it! Great tip about garbanzo bean flour; I’ll try that for my next batch!

  4. This recipe looks almost good enough to be people food. Dogs must love it.

    • Oh yeah, it’s good stuff. I’ve often thought they’d be good pranks ‘hey, you’re eating a dog treat!’ but alas, the joke would probably be on me…they do look pretty enticing when coming out of the oven.

  5. Pingback: Wheat-Free Apple Cinnamon Treats | For The Love of My Dogs

We appreciate your comments, woofs and meows!

